Re: [Amel Yacht Owners] Re: Rigging tune on Maramu caused damage

Patrick McAneny

James, I am  not a rigger , although I have installed standing rigging a few times. However I am a builder and have installed many compression posts in houses. I have always made sure that the post is absolutely plumb and straight . Once out of plumb it loses it ability to carry the loads and will more easily bend or move further out a plumb , increased loads could lead to sudden failure. It seems strange that you state that the compression post is " angled back fore and aft a lot ". I do not see how it would provide support being so far out of plumb. Perhaps someone with a Maramu could confirm that this is normal or not.  The two post angled out to the ribs would seem to be compression posts as well . Do you see any deflection in them or any deflection in the hull where they rest. Keep in mind that it looks like your mizzen mast has only moved downward very little at this point so any deflection would be slight and take close inspection to discern . Use a string pulled tightly one end placed against  each end of the posts , check it , and move around 90 degrees and check again . The string should lay flat against post , should be parallel . If you see a gap , then there is deflection . The hull eyeball it , a short straight edge maybe a foot long held on the outside of the hull horizontally where the post rest should show any hull deformation. If you find anything let the group know maybe we can come up with some suggestions .

Good Luck,
Pat SM Shenanigans

-----Original Message-----
To: amelyachtowners
Sent: Thu, Dec 17, 2015 4:32 pm
Subject: [Amel Yacht Owners] Re: Rigging tune on Maramu caused damage

Hi Patrick and Sailor,
Thanks for your responses.