Re: [Amel Yacht Owners] Batteries - What type house batteries to use & what voltage charge from Solar/Wind?

Bill & Judy Rouse <yahoogroups@...>

Colin,

Too bad you cannot ask Henri Amel why he did not go with 6VDC batteries. 

I am not an expert by any means, but I always try to stick with the original solutions on a SM because I know the people that made these original selections made them with far more knowledge than I will ever have.

What 6VDC users tell me:
 I have quizzed several 6VDC battery users and have not gotten very much from them in terms of specifics...nothing that I could put is a spreadsheet to compare 6VDC to 12VDC batteries. All I ever get is non-analytical comments, like WalMart has them really cheap, or I just know they are better, or everyone on Cruisers Forum recommends them.

My Unlearned Opinion:
Since the flooded 6VDC is made up of three 2VDC cells and the flooded 12VDC is made up of six 2VDC cells, I believe they are essentially the same. One might think that the advantage my be cost, but since cost is normally directly proportional to raw material costs, labor and overhead; and the amount of raw material (lead or lead calcium) really makes a difference, I really wonder??? Coupled with the fact that machine time, labor time, and overhead should be about the same in manufacturing a 12VDC battery or a 6VDC battery, it is reasonable to assume that you should be able to get more volts and amps for your money with a 12VDC battery. Possibly 6VDC batteries are manufactured for weight and size considerations...and possibly there are 6VDC boat users who made the choice based on what I believe to be a "boater's myth," which is actively defended at places like Cruisers Forum. I guess I have too much experience in manufacturing to have a completely open mind!

Let us all know how your research goes. I am certainly one of the prejudiced people on this subject.

Bill
BeBe 387