Re: [Amel Yacht Owners] Bilge / Sump pump

Danny and Yvonne SIMMS

Hi Pat,
I have wondered about that as a solution too. They are much lower cost. I wonder if they could handle the bits and pieces. If there was an electric version of the manual pump that would be my choice for obvious reasons, ie it is so trouble free.
Danny
SM 299 Ocean Pearl

To: amelyachtowners@...
Sent: Wednesday, 19 October 2016 12:59 AM
Subject: Re: [Amel Yacht Owners] Bilge / Sump pump

Danny , Yes my manual pump works great. My foot valve does not leak, at least while I am watching ,over a long time it may.I do not have the original pump , I have a Jabsco , which looks inferior to the original pump. I was wondering if anyone had installed a base and a submersible mounted perhaps a foot above the bottom , occassionally using the manual one to pump out the muck.
Thanks,
Pat

-----Original Message-----
To: amelyachtowners
Sent: Mon, Oct 17, 2016 2:05 pm

Hi Pat.
Try taking the suction pipe off the pump. Is it full? If not, fill it and see if it stays full. Of course if its not full the foot valve is leaking. The fill and watch will just confirm this.
I have the original pump. If the foot valve is working ie no leak allowing the water in the suction to go down at all, the pump is always full. I struggled trying to fix things at the pump. Now at last I have a foot valve that works and the pump does too. One thing I did was shorten the suction to get it higher above the sediment that gets into the sump and my problems have been much le ss since. Foot valves don't like bits of stuff stuck it them when they try to close.
However I wish it would self prime like the manual one does. It doesn't even have a foot valve and yet primes perfectly every time and it cheerfully pumps all the muck from the bottom.
Cheers
Danny

From: "Patrick Mcaneny sailw32@... [amelyachtowners]" <amelyachtowners@...>
To: amelyachtowners@...
Sent: Tuesday, 18 October 2016 12:34 AM