Re: [Amel Yacht Owners] Digest Number 5131[1 Attachment]

sbmesasailor

Hi Paul,

Yes there are several products designed to polish hazy/scratched plastic -you'll get what you pay for: the best are used on the plastic windscreens of airplanes.  Heavy/deep scratches can not be repaired however minor haze and shallow scratches can be temporarily corrected.  Just to set the proper expectations, though, the polish is not permanent.  Depending on the exposure, the improvement will last from six months to a year and then need re-polishing but it is certainly better than replacing the windscreens.

Dennis Johns
Libertad
Maramu #121
Currently in Ensenada, MX

On Monday, July 10, 2017 6:30 PM, "amelyachtowners@..." wrote:

3 Messages

Digest #5131
2a
2b
Re: Hazy wind screen by "Ben Driver/YAHOO" ben_and_gayle_driver

1a

Re: Shipping sails from the US to Europe

Sun Jul 9, 2017 6:57 pm (PDT) . Posted by:

bill_9895

Greg,

I have no first hand experience with the mainland EU, but many islands in the Caribbean, including those that are officially part of the EU, have VAT and Duty exceptions for "Yachts in Transit." Taxes are not collected on imports that are addressed to boats with a valid short-term cruising permit.

Of course if your yacht has been imported into the UK or other EU country and is not "in transit" Duty and VAT are probably just going to be the cost of life.

For Duty purposes, be sure you know where your sails are really coming from. Very few are made in the USA anymore, most coming from Siri Lanka, Thailand, Hong Kong, or China.

It's worth a closer look with someone who really knows what they are talking about!

Bill Kinney
SM160, Harmonie
Boston,Mass

---In amelyachtowners@...,
I have just had the unpleasant experience of shipping an ammeter from the US to the UK and being hit with 22% duty and VAT plus handling and clearing charges. Apparently this now happens routinely, if the item is more than about $45.