Re: [Amel Yacht Owners] Best trade wind rig for an Amel 55

gavin <gavingilmorelodge@...>

Thanks John, very helpful, please see comments in your text.

Gavin

Sent: 22 August 2017 13:40
To: amelyachtowners@...
Subject: Re: [Amel Yacht Owners] Best trade wind rig for an Amel 55

Hi Gavin,

Congratulations on the purchase. I spent almost a year looking at Amels and traveling near and far to visit.   At one point I had planned on buying a Super Maramu in Europe which was in sail off condition.  I actually had lined up crew for a transatlantic but the deal fell through.   I finally purchased a Super Maramu in Martinique, and I am now glad I purchased her close to an Amel service center(Le Marin) and also closer to my home in the US.

I have sailed her about 2700 nm so far and feel like I am still learning her sail plan characteristics.   I look back now and am grateful that I did not purchase a boat in Europe and then almost immediately embark on a crossing.   Playing around the islands and walking the boat (and crew) up to longer passages was definitely the way to go.  I would be cautious about doing a crossing straight off after purchase.  We’ll give her an intensive shake down in the Med, including whatever heavy weather comes our way, and see how we feel after a month. Maybe some other 55 owners would be able to help you with the crossing?