Re: Seasickness cures and medication

Brent Cameron

I used to teach aerobatics myself and was never much affected no matter the motion. Same went for flight in IMC (clouds). Boats on the other hand can get me rarely. I’m not good with sitting there jigging on deep sea fishing fishing boats where I’m exposed to the diesel exhaust or on sailboats l when I lose sight of the horizon and the boat is yawing down waves (that motion has nothing to do with flying and i guess that I’m not used to it and it can do me in until about day 3-4 and then I’m fine.). It’s funny but I always seem to get it for about a day at the evening of day 2 if it’s going to happen to me on a passage. If I make it past that, I’m fine. 

Anyway,  I’ve tried just about everything and I’ve found that:
  1) Gravol (Dimenhydrinate) - works only when I have so much that  I’m asleep.  
  2) Bonine - if taken before I leave and regularly, it can stave off the effects unless it’s really bad out there. 
  3) Elastic Sea sick Wrist Bands - I guess I’m too sceptical for them to work for me
  4) Electric Sea Sick Wrist Bands - Ditto and I’ve wound the voltage right up to the point they make me jump. 
  5) Scopalomine - Doesn’t seem to stave off Day 2/3 effects for me but do note that you really need to wash your hands well after touching these as it will completely dilate your pupils and scare the hell out of your friends and family.   I wish it worked for me as it is the easiest of the lot (well except for those wrist band things) and has the least side effects.