Re: AC not cooling

Joerg,

You just brought up one of the continuing issues with some 55 owners. I have tried to learn as much as I can about the Climma Chiller System and maybe I can offer a few things that you have not considered. Please let me know because I am still learning.

The Climma Chiller system on most A55s is both efficient and complicated. Finding a qualified and experienced technician for the Climma Chiller system will be a challenge. I believe that the most common issues in order of probability are:
  1. The freshwater circuit pressure is not between 1.5 and 2.0 BAR
  2. There is air in the freshwater circuit.
  3. The liquid inside the freshwater circuit is not the correct mixture of 80% water and 20% antifreeze (Coolant) (Glicole) (Glycol)
  4. The heat exchange is not working efficiently because of poor saltwater flow caused by restrictions in that circuit.
  5. The sealed system & compressor are not working properly because of low refrigerant. This is the least probable cause, but regrettably, the first thing many technicians do is add refrigerant!
When adding to the freshwater circuit and increasing the pressure to 1.5 BAR it is VERY important to bleed all air. Climma states that "each single “top” point in the circuit has to have an air outlet valve. Avoid siphons and avoid slopes in the freshwater circuit and each fan coil must have an air outlet valve."  These are used to bleed air.

Climma's instructions on removing are: