[Amel] Security grill for main hatch

john martin <symoondog@...>

Look under the folder of photos on this site called "Moon Dog." The security grills (2 pieces) are made from 1/4 x 1 inch flat aluminum, they have to be made in two parts to clear the dodger. Also note the stainless steel bars on all hatches. I have been using these bars on my boats for over 35 years, even on my beloved Chesapeake Bay in the US. It always amazes me how a person would not think of going to sleep at night in his hometown without locking all doors and windows, but will come to a strange, poor, third world country and go to sleep with the front door wide open. John "Moon Dog" SM248

To: amelyachtowners@yahoogroups.com
Date: Fri, 26 Feb 2010 13:50:45 +0000
Subject: [Amel] Security grill for main hatch

I am looking for advice from any member who has constructed a security grill for the main hatch.

The intention is to be able to leave the main companionway open to allow night time ventilation at anchor but secure it against unwanted "guests".

Regards,

Martin Bevan
Caduceus Amel 54 #56

[Non-text portions of this message have been removed]

Martin <yachtcaduceus@...>

Thank you that was just what I was looking for.

Can you advise how you secure the horizontal sliding hatch when the security grills are in position? I can see some other photoghraphs that might be what you use but cannot ascertain the technioque used.

Regards,

Martin Bevan

--- In amelyachtowners@yahoogroups.com, john martin <symoondog@...> wrote: