Plexiglass

Thomas <thomas.kleman@...>

Don't know the source of the damage (new boat to us) but our plexiglass in the cockpit is scratched/damaged in places. Looks like either UV or someone went crazy with an abrasive compound. Anyone have a source for replicating the four pieces ? I asked around my marina and was shocked at the prices I heard.

THX- Tom and Kirstin on L'ORIENT SM2K #422

joseph mc donnell

Hello Tom
I recently heard of a solution for getting rid of scrathes on Plexiglass and that is to use Brasso metal polish.There are polishing compounds on sale for the purpose, but I hear it is used in a certain yard in La Rochelle. It comes in liquid form and has a very mild abrassive compound. Try it on a corner of the plexiglass and see if it helps. There is one drawback, you have to supply the elbow grease.
Regards Joe McDonnell

amelliahona <no_reply@...>

Hi Tom & Kirstin:

I am an certified aircraft mechanic (among other things) and we deal with plexiglass
a lot as most aircraft windows are plexiglass. You don't post whether the scratches
are on the surface of within the substance of the material but there is a difference.

In my experience the majority of the scratches we have on our Amel SM2000 Hull #
335 are surface scratches. These arose when we left our boat in Antigua with the
Amel supplied window cover on and the Montserrat volcano spread ash over the area.
The abrasive ash got between the cover and the plexiglass and as the cover flapped
in the breeze it upbraided the window. Those types of scratches can be polished
out. Hand polishing is best. You can go online to www.aircraftspruce.com and search
for a "micromesh" kit. It comes with all the components needed to treat a couple of
windows, but be prepared to spend hours and hours doing this. If you use power
tools to do this you need to use lots of cooling water and low speeds so that heat
build up on the window won't distort the optics. We now place terri cloth covers