Topics

Pump Out ... SM

Gary Wells

Feeling like a total newbie, we cannot seem to get suction started to empty either holding tank. The tanks ate nearly full as we can look in and see slurry but I'm not sure if there's a drop-in stanchion pipe or some other item I might be missing. There's just a big air gap to look at, and while the pumpout hose does apply suction, it won't draw anything but air. We primed the pumpout hose, made sure there's a good fit but nothing happens. I have to be missing something basic but have had a few other dockmates helping out to no avail. Thoughts?

amelliahona <no_reply@...>

Gary:

I am surprised you weren't able to pump out your holding tanks in the usual fashion.  The tank and pump out situation was a bit of a mystery to me but I finally figured it out and have posted this diagram in the files section that is "anatomically correct"  as far as I can determine.  

I am glad to update it and repost it if anyone else finds it in error.  

The pump out standpipe goes from the deck fitting to nearly the bottom of the tank.  A vent on the aft face of the black plastic deck mounting fitting allows air to enter the tank (and also acts as an overflow if the tank is overfilled).  So, applying a good seal at the deck fitting with the pump out hose should suck the contents out.  The only reason I can see that this wouldn't work is if there is a leak in the suction standpipe that allows air to enter the standpipe (I believe that standpipe is metal and thus corrosion could have penetrated it), thus breaking the seal and preventing pump out. The suggestion by Alexander is elegant and would overcome this issue.

I have successfully pumped out numerous times using the standard procedure but time will tell if my system will some day suffer a similar fate.