[Amel Yacht Owners] Grounding

Germain Jean-Pierre <jgermain@...>

Hello Paul,

3. This is the ground for the BLU… HF in English.  It is connected to its own grounding plate on the starboard side of the skeg.

4.  BLU???  See above.  Gounding cable is Yellow/green .. by convention.  The HF has its own grounding plate; it is not connected to the anodes.

6. I would not do that but instead use the provided grounding plate.  Even if you have to rewire the ground.  HF installations are very susceptible to faults due to poor grounding.

Good luck.

Jean-Pierre
Eleuthera, SM 007.

On 1 Mar 2016, at 09:56, osterberg.paul.l@... [amelyachtowners] <amelyachtowners@...> wrote:

I have problem to understand how the 24 v grounding system is arranged. (I’m not very experienced with advanced boat electrics as my previous boats has been much smaller and less complex)

1.     1. I have the ground strap that goes to one of the keel bolts in the grey water sump, where numerous of ground cables are connected.

2.      2. I have two sintered plates on the skeg, I do not know if they are both connected to each other but assume so as they are very close and almost in contact.

3.     3. There is a copper strip on the starboard side of after lazaret, which I assume is connected to the sintered plates on the skeg, Should it be a similar copper strip on the port side? Can’t find any but could be behind the gas locker.

4.     4. Behind the chart table I have a large yellow and green cable that is connected to the “BLU” terminal, together with a few other smaller yellow and green cables.  When disconnecting the ground cable from the “BLU” terminal, I can measure that it is connected to the copper strap in the lazaret. But it has even when disconnected with the “BLU” terminal contact with the ground strap in the grey water sump??? Should it be like that?