Topics

Storage in the galley Super Maramu 2000

Elaine Leishman

Hi everyone, I am a new member and a new owner of our first yacht, Amel SM hull no. 251. 

Moved onboard a few weeks ago and still unpacking and finding places for our belongings.  I am a keen cook and have quite a large pantry of what I consider essentials and having trouble organising the cupboards in the galley.  Would appreciate any input from the owners out there as to how they have gone about doing it.  The deep, top opening locker in the galley is proving to be the most difficult.  Also has anyone removed the bottle racks to gain extra storage.  Thanks in advance.
Elaine 

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

Gary Wells

Well,my wife would be the expert but here's what I've learned through keen observations and the occasional "honey, where do we keep the .....?"

At 5'2" she has a pretty good challenge with the deep cabinets as well.  We do own a pair of 'reaching-thingies" .. can grabber claws . that help manage that..  Mostly, the cabinets are full of seldom used things including the Soda Stream, electric kettle and vacuum sealer (only out at dock) and 'back-up" canned goods.
Our boat (#209) doesn't have a dishwasher so the extra cupboard is full of the zip-loc bags, foils, parchment, and the lesser used spices in a portable rack. the cupboard under the sink has the pressure cooker and some other nesting pots and pans.

Virtually all of the silverware and cutlery are in the two drawers under the countertop .. with the exception of the plastic and nylon stuff (spatulas, ladles, stirring spoons, tongs) which are held in "vases" in the rack above the fridge.

All our dishware is kept in the two aft cabinets, stbd side, in the salon.  It stacks nicely (all melamine) and since it's not metal can safely live close to the electronics.

All the foodstuffs basically are in the bilges, in their own bins (in case of leakage). Keeps the weight of canned goods low.